©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4. Polynesian Paradise.

MFT August Release – Countdown Day 4

Hello again!

Time to showcase some more goodies from the My Favorite Things August Release!

NewReleaseCountdown_Day4

For Countdown Day 4, we’re showcasing Birdie Brown’s Polynesian Paradise stamp and Die-Namics sets; the Tiki Hut Die-Namics; the Pop-Up Birthday Die-namics; the Wave Background stamp and the Pineapple Background stamp – here’s my first card:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Polynesian Paradise.

I created a background panel using Daffodil and Coral Crush Dye Ink Refills – I added a few dots of each colour onto a piece of acetate, spritzed with water, and transferred the colour to a piece of white cardstock. I heat set the panel and adhered straight down to a white card base.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Polynesian Paradise.

I die-cut a circular frame using two of the Double Stitched Circle STAX Die-Namics, foam mounted it to the card front and stamped a sentiment from Polynesian Paradise in the centre with black dye ink.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Polynesian Paradise.

I stamped the flowers images from the same set onto scrap inky panels, fussy cut them out and adhered to the circle frame.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Polynesian Paradise.

To finish, I added some black gemstones to the centres of the flowers. Here’s my second card:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Wave Background.

I began by creating the background panel using the emboss-resist technique. I took a piece of white cardstock and blended Peacock Feathers and Salty Ocean Distress Inks together and then stamping the Wave Background with Versamark Ink. I sprinkled with clear embossing powder and heat set.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Wave Background.

I then blended Pine Needles and Chipped Sapphire Distress Inks on top of the embossed areas, and through to the cardstock – the embossed areas resisted the ink but the colours below were intensified! I set the panel with a light coating of water and Perfect Pearls.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Wave Background.

I die-cut a circle aperture from the ink-blended panel and set aside. On a white card base, I stamped a palm tree from Tiki Party (showcasing on Monday), and coloured it in with some ZIG Clean Color Real Brush Pens. I added clear Wink of Stella and Glossy Accents on the coconuts for some shine 😉

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Wave Background.

I stamped one of the birds from Polynesian Paradise onto a piece of white cardstock, again used the ZIG Clean Color Real Brush Pens to colour it in and fussy cut it out before foam mounting to a strip of black cardstock – the sentiment was heat-embossed in white and the strip had banner ends cut on either side.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 4.  Wave Background.

The wave background was foam mounted to the card base, allowing the palm tree to peek through, followed by the sentiment strip and bird. To finish, I added a couple more fussy-cut flowers to help balance the design.

Be sure to check out the My Favorite Things blog for today’s full product reveal, giveaways and links to lots of fabulous projects from the rest of the MFT Design Team members!

Thanks for stopping by 😉

13 thoughts on “MFT August Release – Countdown Day 4

  1. Shirley says:

    Beautiful cards! The first card’s colors are very beautiful! and love the second card’s colors as well.

  2. Jan D., FL says:

    OMG…love both cards, but the first one is stunning. Bravo on the new release and the talent on the MFT team.

  3. Sheri K says:

    I love your cards, the cool watercolor background made from acetate is amazing. So simple yet so cool. Thanks for sharing!

  4. PARKER O says:

    Still haven’t closed my mouth after seeing that first gorgeous card of yours. Wow! The second is so whimsical and tropical that I want to go to the ocean now. I’m ready to pack.

  5. Felicia says:

    Sooooo loving how you did your backgrounds. They are absolutely Gorgeous! These cards are making my MFT Wish list grow and grow… Great Job!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.