©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Double Stitched Circle STAX Die-namics and inlaid die-cutting.

MFT August Release – Countdown Day 5

Hey everyone!

Thanks for joining me at the start of August release week for My Favorite Things!

NewReleaseCountdown_Day5

For Countdown Day 5, we’re showcasing the Lisa Johnson Designs’ Scribble Roses stamp set and Die-Namics, the Encouraging Words stamp set and finally, the Double Stitched Circle, Oval, Rectangle and Square STAX Die-namics. Here’s my first card:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Double Stitched Circle STAX Die-namics and inlaid die-cutting.

I had soooo much fun creating the inlaid die-cutting effect with the Double Stitched Circle STAX Die-namics! I trimmed a panel of white cardstock down to 4.25″ x 5.5″ using the largest frame die from Blueprints 25, and drew some guidelines to help with alignment and positioning the dies accurately.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Double Stitched Circle STAX Die-namics and inlaid die-cutting.

I started by die-cutting the circles, beginning on the left hand side and working my way to the right – with each pass, I left the die-cut piece intact before cutting the next circle.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Double Stitched Circle STAX Die-namics and inlaid die-cutting.

Also, I replaced the white die-cut circles with coloured die-cut circles as I ran the dies through my die-cutting machine – needless to say, I had a lot of crescent shaped paper scraps to piece back together for the inlaid effect.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Double Stitched Circle STAX Die-namics and inlaid die-cutting.

The sentiment was heat embossed on white onto a strip of black cardstock and foam mounted to the card front. Here’s my second card:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Scribble Roses.

Again, another fun card to create, though not as complex as the first! I blended Mustard Seed and Worn Lipstick Distress Inks in the centre of a card base to act as a kind of holding area for the floral clusters.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Scribble Roses.

I then created coloured panels using a mixture of Distress Inks and water, and from these, I die-cut the base layers of the roses. I die-cut the overlays from some black cardstock and adhered them to the bases with small dots of Glossy Accents.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Scribble Roses.

The roses were foam mounted to the card front allowing the ink blended halo to peek through – to finish up, I stamped the leaf outline images with black ink onto green inky panels and die-cut them out before adhering them behind the roses.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT August Release Countdown Day 5. Scribble Roses.

Pop by the My Favorite Things Blog for today’s full product reveal, giveaways and links to lots of gorgeous projects from the rest of the MFT Design Team members!

Thanks for stopping by 😉

30 thoughts on “MFT August Release – Countdown Day 5

  1. donna mikasa says:

    Wow, Mayuri! You are an inlaid die cutting genius! Love those rainbow circles! And your rose card is just gorgeous!

  2. Ali T. says:

    I’m gonna have to reread and reread your inlaid die-cutting method over again (and then think about it some more) to figure out how you did that!! That is a truly amazing design!!

  3. Shirley says:

    wow! your rainbow card is awesome…something I would like to try to make. The rose card is beautiful as well.

  4. Colleen Howell says:

    Both cards are awesome, and the inlaid circle one had to take a while to make I would have made myself very confused! But that was a great idea.

  5. Jan D., FL says:

    Wow…what wonderful imagination you must have….I cannot quit looking at that first card. Very clever use of the dies….and the colors on both cards are beautiful. You and your fellow designers get a standing ovation.

  6. Kelly Flaherty says:

    I do so love your stitched circle card – it’s fascinating to look at. I’m sure it took a lot of work to create, but I think I’m going to give it a try! What a wonderful, cheerful card.

  7. Sandra Schroeder says:

    Your cards are so, so beautiful. Love the inlaid circles and the roses are just so stunning. Wonderful work!

  8. Felicia says:

    Wowza! I love the entwined rainbow circles…how’d you do that? the watercolor look roses and overlay use is beautiful. Fantabulous Job Girl! Love, Love, Love them.

  9. JudyB says:

    Oh my goodness, what a great job you did with those circle dies. And the lovely watercolor on the next card is so very pretty. Thanks so much for sharing with us.

  10. Kathy Krug says:

    Love the unique look of the circles. One of those designs that has us asking “How did she do that?”

  11. PARKER O says:

    I kept looking and looking at your first card, and my eyes wouldn’t hold still while looking at it. I think it is spectacularly different and great looking. Hope you show a bit of making it on video. The second card is so pretty. The wonderfully pale yellow you put behind the Scribbles made the Scribbles pop. Great creative work.

  12. Toni C says:

    If you make another one of those circle cards, please post a video! Like others, I still can’t work out quite how you did it, its brilliant!!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.