©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Party Patterns.

MFT July Release – Countdown Day 1

Hey everyone!

Today is the fifth and final day of the July release from My Favorite Things before the new product launch, and it ends with another fabulous group of dies and stamp sets!

NewReleaseCountdown_Day1

For Countdown Day 1, we’re showcasing a cute stamp set from Miss Tiina called Things with Wings which has co-ordinating dies; the Party Patterns stamp set; the Pop-Up Birthday Die-namics; the Vintage Buttons Die-Namics and the Abstract stencil and background stamp. I’m sharing two cards with you – here’s the first:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Pop-Up Birthday Die-Namics and Things With Wings.

I used the Pop-Up Birthday Die-Namics to create a clean, graphic and whimsical card – there are a few layers of coloured paper peeking through behind the main white panel on the front for some interest, and I can see myself reaching for these dies often!

©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Pop-Up Birthday Die-Namics and Things With Wings.

I began by laying the dies out onto my work surface, grabbing the large frame die from Blueprints 25 and securing them altogether so that I could ensure all the pieces cut in the same place, across all of my pieces of paper. First, I ran the group of dies through some white cardstock, and then followed with four sheets of brightly coloured paper.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Pop-Up Birthday Die-Namics and Things With Wings.

I then adhered all the sheets together, and popped all the die-cut sentiment pieces up, pushing through every single letter. This was a bit fiddly, but the end result is worth it, I think 😉

©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Pop-Up Birthday Die-Namics and Things With Wings.

To finish, I stamped some of the adorable birds from Things with Wings and painted them with watercolours before adhering the whole thing to a kraft card base.

Here’s my second card:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Party Patterns.

I used the equally versatile Party Patterns stamp set to create a background panel by repeatedly stamping one of the solid images with Distress Inks on a piece of white cardstock. I used the rock’n’roll technique for a gradient look across each impression.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Party Patterns.

I then went in with black dye ink and stamped the outline images on top of the solid impressions and lightly spritzed with a mixture of Perfect Pearls and water. This piece was trimmed down to slightly smaller than the card base and foam mounted to the front.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Party Patterns.

I stamped a sentiment from Birthday Bears onto some black cardstock with Versamark Ink, sprinkled with white embossing powder, heat set and trimmed with one of the smaller frame dies from the Cross-Stitch Rectangle STAX Die-Namics. This piece was then foam mounted to the card with a bit of twine underneath it.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT July Release Countdown Day 1. Party Patterns.

To finish, I added a couple of sequins!

Be sure to check out the My Favorite Things Blog for today’s full product reveal, giveaways and links to lots of fabulous projects from the rest of the MFT Design Team members!

Thanks for stopping by 😉

13 thoughts on “MFT July Release – Countdown Day 1

  1. Pooja says:

    Both your cards have some vry clever techniques..loved loved the poped up alphas n colored layers underneath it and circles on second one are fab !

  2. Colleen Howell says:

    Adorable but your 1st is my favorite, I love how you used different colors to pop up the words, I noticed it before you told me in the directions. So very clever!

  3. KariLynn says:

    Your first card is so adorable, love the dimension of the Happy Birthday pop out. Love how you created the circles with the multiple colors of ink.

  4. conil says:

    You first card shows what a genius you truly are. Brilliant. And all that color on the second card looks so vibrant and rich.

  5. Felicia says:

    Now you’re talking my colors…these rainbow mix of colors and that Die is awesome. Love how you put these cards together.

  6. Mary Taylor says:

    Really like the second card using distress inks and the technique – I’ve tried to replicate but not having any success. Do you have any type of tutorial to provide additional assistance to get the beautiful color combinations you have used. Also, what type of paper are you using? Thanks for sharing your lovely designs!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.