©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. The Big, The Bold and Party Cutaways.

Winnie & Walter – A Week to Die For – Day 1

Hello!

Thanks for joining me for Winnie & Walter’s A Week to Die For, where the DT are showcasing the dies that came out from the January Release!

A_Week_To_Die_For

Day 1 is for The Big, the Bold and Party and The Big, the Bold and You cutaways – I chose to play experiment with a partial die-cutting technique. Here’s my card:

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. The Big, The Bold and Party Cutaways.

You may recognise the brightly coloured rings in the background from this card. I tellya, I had so many die-cut circles left over from that card! I chose to use some of them up by adhering them straight down on to a card base, and trimming off the excess.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. The Big, The Bold and Party Cutaways.

On a separate panel of white cardstock, I partially die-cut the ‘celebrate’ sentiment and foam mounted it to the card front. Here’s a close-up:

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. The Big, The Bold and Party Cutaways.

I did have to practice a little to ensure I wasn’t die-cutting the sentiment out completely, but the end result is definitely worth it!

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. The Big, The Bold and Party Cutaways.

I also think you could create a card set from this concept just by changing up the background – doesn’t necessarily have to be inlaid die-cut circles, could just be pattern paper, or Distress Ink blending…so many ideas!

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. The Big, The Bold and Party Cutaways.

To finish, I added a couple of sequins and some wood veneer stars.

Be sure check out projects from Julie and Shay on the Winnie & Walter blog, along with the rest of the Winnie & Walter talent.

Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Winnie & Walter – A Week to Die For – Day 1

  1. Miriam Prantner says:

    Gorgeous! Love that bold circle element, and how the white bottom of the card really tames it!

  2. Michele F says:

    Mayuri this is just stunning! I used that partial die-cutting technique on a few Christmas cards last year… love the colors you’ve chosen for your circles – I will be trying that this afternoon!!
    =] Michele

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.