Hello there!

Welcome to the second day of Winnie & Walter’s A Week to Die For, where the DT are showcasing the dies that came out from the January Release!

A_Week_To_Die_For

Day 2 is for the Essentials: Katharine Cutaways and the In a Word Cutaways – here’s my first card:

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. Essentials: Katherine Cutaways.

I began by die-cutting some banners out of scraps of pattern paper, using one of the dies from Essentials: Katherine. I then adhered them to a scrap of paper, staggering them slightly from one another (and its a complete coincidence that the colours totally match the ones from the Winnie & Walter logo!).

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. Essentials: Katherine Cutaways.

Then, I took the smallest tag die from the set and die-cut the shape out of the staggered banners to give me an aperture for a shaker element. I added a piece of acetate behind the little window, put foam tape all around the edges and set aside.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. Essentials: Katherine Cutaways.

I stamped the heart from You’ve Got Love Mail with Red Royal ink onto a card base, dropped some sequins on top and sealed with the banner piece created earlier. I flicked some Tarnished Brass Distress Stain over the card for some interest and stamped the sentiment below the shaker element (comes from the same stamp set). Here’s my second card:

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. In a Word: Happy Cutaway.

I wish you could see just how shiny the gold leaf is on the ‘happy’ die-cut! This card uses such a fun technique – I took some double sided adhesive sheets and die-cut the large sentiment out of it, removed the liner paper from one side and adhered it straight down onto a card base.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. In a Word: Happy Cutaway.

Then I removed the liner paper from the top and gently laid down a piece of gold leaf to the exposed, sticky area, burnishing a little with my fingers. I grabbed a soft brush and delicately started to removed the excess gold leaf. I stamped a few of the starburst images from the Sparkle stamp set with Delicata Golden Glitz ink and some of the smaller stars with black dye ink along the bottom edge of the card base.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. In a Word: Happy Cutaway.

I also stamped a supporting sentiment and the cake topper banner flags from Sugar Rush with black ink, colouring in some of the flags with Gold Wink of Stella. To finish, I adhered a strip of pattern paper to the bottom of the card and embellished with gold sequins and black gemstones.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter - A Week to Die For. In a Word: Happy Cutaway.

Thanks for stopping by – don’t forget to see all the gorgeousness created by Julie, Shay and the rest of the Talent over at the Winnie & Walter blog!

