CAS-ual Fridays CFC116 Sequins and Chevrons challenge. Die-cut squares and coloured paper. Paper Smooches sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC116 – Sequins and Chevrons

*** Edited to add that I am submitting this card in the the Runway Inspired Challenge – RIC#45 – Tanya Taylor, thanks to huge encouragement from fellow bloggers Kimberley and Jacquie ***

Hello, and welcome to another theme for this week’s CAS-ual Fridays Challenge!

Our sponsor is Ellen Hutson and you’ve got a week to join in and play along with all the sequin and chevron inspired fun!

cfc116    Ellen_Hutson_Logo

More details for the challenge can be found here. Here’s my card:

CAS-ual Fridays CFC116 Sequins and Chevrons challenge. Die-cut squares and coloured paper. Paper Smooches sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

I wanted to try a die-cutting technique that I’d used for this card, but this time with square dies. Once again, I grabbed different coloured cardstock, laid out all my dies so they were nesting within one another and stuck a bit of washitape on the back of them to secure. I die-cut the cardstock with my dies in this formation, and got loads of frames:

CAS-ual Fridays CFC116 Sequins and Chevrons challenge. Die-cut squares and coloured paper. Paper Smooches sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.    CAS-ual Fridays CFC116 Sequins and Chevrons challenge. Die-cut squares and coloured paper. Paper Smooches sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

I had already sketched out a layout for my card where I would have to chop out a huge triangle piece from the middle. I kept the bottom triangle to one side while I worked on the chevrons. These were basically the corners from the square frames spaced apart equally, and foam mounted to a piece of metallic blue cardstock.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC116 Sequins and Chevrons challenge. Die-cut squares and coloured paper. Paper Smooches sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

I adhered the chevron panel behind the top triangle flap of my card base, and before I adhered the bottom triangle piece, I stamped a sentiment from the Paper Smooches Birthday Sampler set.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC116 Sequins and Chevrons challenge. Die-cut squares and coloured paper. Paper Smooches sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

Finally, I added some co-ordinating sequins from Neat and Tangled (lurrrve these!).

Be sure to check out the projects from the other DT members – hope you can play along too!

Thanks for looking!

26 thoughts on “CAS-ual Fridays CFC116 – Sequins and Chevrons

  1. flubidoo says:

    Gosh! You guys, I didn’t even see it that way, that it would fit the Runway Inspired Challenge so well! Thanks for the kind words – I’ve linked it up!

  2. Cris G. says:

    Congratulations on being a Fabulous Fashionista at RIC, Flubidoo. Beautifully “architected” card!

  3. Ardyth says:

    Just found this on pinterest – this is absolutely stunning – it has all my favourite components – geometric, rainbow, lots of white space!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.