©Candles in the Garden. Julie Mogford Birthday Blog Hop.

Julie’s Birthday Bash!

Hello and welcome to a very special blog post!

Today, a few of us are celebrating Julie Mogford’s birthday – Julie is one half of the sensational team behind Winnie & Walter. Her partner, Shay, has put together this wonderful blog hop in honour of Julie’s big day.

Print

Hopefully, you have arrived from Lea Lawson’s blog and after me, you’re next stop is Suzanne Dahlberg! Here’s my card:

©Candles in the Garden. Julie Mogford Birthday Blog Hop.

You may not know this about me, but I have a very difficult time of throwing things away, especially anything that is covered in Distress Inks 😉 For my focal element, I used a pile of coloured panels leftover from making this card to create what I am calling ‘a layered stack of Distress Ink goodness’. I did this because I think Julie is a bit partial to Distress Inks 😉

©Candles in the Garden. Julie Mogford Birthday Blog Hop.

The apertures left from die-cutting the hearts out of these panels made such an interesting effect, so I jauntily adhered them together to allow all the various colours to peek through. I also added a piece of kraft cardstock behind the whole lot for some interest – the woodgrain pattern is heat embossed in gold.

©Candles in the Garden. Julie Mogford Birthday Blog Hop.

The sentiment comes from Winnie & Walter’s The Big, The Bold and The Happy and was heat embossed in gold onto the banner image from The Big, The Bold and The Extras. I fussy cut the banner out and adhered to the coloured panels.

©Candles in the Garden. Julie Mogford Birthday Blog Hop.

I added a small heart and some sequins around the card to finish up and was really pleased with the way it turned out – I hope Julie likes it too!

Happy Birthday Julie 😉

In case you missed a stop, here’s the entire blog hop list – thanks for stopping by!

Winnie & Walter Blog
Gayatri Murali
Heather Pulvirenti
Joni Andaya
Kelly Griglione
Laura Sterckx
Laurie Willison
Lea Lawson
Mayuri – << you are here!
Suzanne Dahlberg
Vanessa Menhorn

15 thoughts on “Julie’s Birthday Bash!

  1. Carla Hundley says:

    Terrific way to make you
    lovely B-Day card for Julie!
    Love the technique you
    did.
    Carla from Utah

  2. Kelly Griglione says:

    Egads, this is just awesome, Mayuri!! All those layers are so inviting, and I have no doubt Julie will appreciate the distress inks : ) The blue and gold banner is a great touch … I have to remember this when I reach for black and white again!!

  3. Julie M says:

    Mayuri – I absolutely love the card! The distress ink colors are YUMMY! 🙂 This is such a clever idea. I’m with Kelly – the banner in the blue and gold is so great with this. Thank you for the birthday wishes – this is such a treat! *hugs*

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.