Hellloooo, and welcome to this week’s CAS-ual Fridays Challenge, which I have to say is an absolute blinder! The theme is Happy New Year and I think these can be some of the more fun cards to create because you can unleash all your creativity and come up with something different every time! You also have the chance to win something super fantastic from CAS-ual Friday Stamps.

cfc124

Here’s my card:

©Candles in the Garden. Masking with Distress Inks, heat embossed gold stars and sentiment strips.

I’ve been wanting to try a masking technique that I’ve seen Pamela Ho using on a lot of her cards recently, and she seems to have such a beautiful knack for creating wonderfully blended backgrounds. I can’t say I was as successful, as you can see where some of my inks have bled, but I will definitely be practising…

©Candles in the Garden. Masking with Distress Inks, heat embossed gold stars and sentiment strips.

I started by drawing guidelines on the card front so I could mask areas off before sponging on Distress Inks – the design seems to have gone down a sort of Union Jack feel unintentionally…then I grabbed six ink colours and started inking up various parts of the card. I love how it gets darker in the centre as all the colours converge 😉

©Candles in the Garden. Masking with Distress Inks, heat embossed gold stars and sentiment strips.

Oh, and those gold stars? I first saw them on fellow Girl Friday Lindsay’s blog, and couldn’t wait to give it a go myself – all you need is Versamark, some wood veneer stars and gold embossing powder. I couldn’t believe how easy this was to achieve and I think its really effective, combined with those jumbo sequins…

©Candles in the Garden. Masking with Distress Inks, heat embossed gold stars and sentiment strips.

Once the card front had dried, I used a powder tool all over before white heat embossing one of the frame images from the JustRite For All You Do stamp set. Then I stamped four of the sentiments from CAS-ual Friday Stamps Countdown set on white cardstock and trimmed into strips before adhering them to the card front – some were stuck straight down and others were foam mounted.

Thanks for looking – I hope you can take a look at what the rest of the DT have been up to! Our sponsor is CAS-ual Fridays Stamps, and one lucky winner gets a wonderful prize – more details are on the CAS-ual Fridays challenge blog!

CFS+Blog+Button

