Runway Inspired Challenge #39 – Clover Canyon Resort

Hello everyone! TGIF…I’ve been counting down the hours at work today to see if I could squeeze in a card for the Runway Inspired Challenge #39 – Clover Canyon Resort – I loved the tribally pattern on the model’s dress.

Clover Canyon Resort 2014

I also loved the colour combo, and tried to use those as a starting point for my one layer card.

RIC39_SING_RGB_DSC_0097

I used the Avery Elle iKat Additions stamp set to create a sort of symmetrical pattern, stamped straight down onto the card. I used a combination of Distress Inks and Adirondack Inks to echo the colours from the dress – I don’t think I achieved the tribally effect I’d originally planned, but liked the end result all the same.

RIC39_SING_RGB_DSC_0099

I wanted black to be the focal colour, so I picked the round image from the Mama Elephant Smitten stamp set, and stamped in Versafine Onyx Black. I liked the way the colours showed through the sentiment…

RIC39_SING_RGB_DSC_0103

Finally, I stamped the two lines from the WPlus9 Country Charm stamp set, to match the lines from the dress. This was a really quick effort for me, and great to know how I can achieve such a different effect from the iKat designs.

Thanks for looking!

13 thoughts on “Runway Inspired Challenge #39 – Clover Canyon Resort

  1. wienerhoneymooners says:

    I love it Totally, and I just love Mama Elephant stamps too!

    Avery Elle is sponsoring the current CASology challenge, I know it is short notice to enter CASology NEON, ending tomorrow, (Avery Elle ikat is perfect for that challenge!!!)..

    Anyways I am a BIG Fan of your work, and would love to see you play along with the next one starting Tuesday if you are able!

    Have a great day,
    Kimberly

  2. Julie says:

    A wonderful card. Your stamping is great! I had seen this set of stamps but not appreciated its potential until seeing your card, I may just have to think about going shopping…
    Julie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.