Runway Inspired Challenge #36 – Electric Feathers

Hello…

I know I’m leaving this quite late, but I really wanted to join in on Runway Inspired Challenge #36 – Electric Feathers. The image is so lovely with all the dark reds, but I must admit, I did struggle with this one…

ric#36

Electric Feathers Fall 2013 (style)

I don’t own any triangle shaped stamps or dies, so wondered how I would bring those angled lines into my card, and thought about chevrons instead. So I took out my Lifestyle Crafts Chevron dies, and die-cut lots of chevrons from an ombre background piece I created using Fired Brick, Aged Mahogany and Pumice Stone Distress Inks – I thought these colours closely matched the colours in the photo. Here’s how my card turned out:

RIC_CHEV_RGB_DSC_0002

I staggered each chevron piece above one another, and applied varying heights of adhesive on alternative pieces. For example, the first piece on the bottom, just above the sentiment was adhered straight down. The next piece had 1mm thick foam adhesive, and the piece above that had 3mm foam adhesive. This created a really nice stacked look (though took me forrrrrrever to attach those fiddly bits of foam!).

RIC_CHEV_RGB_DSC_0005

The sentiment is from the Loving Words stamp set by Ali Edwards – I had to cut apart the ‘thank you’ from ‘thank you for being in my life’ and stamped it repeatedly in Versafine Onyx Black along the bottom chevron.

RIC_CHEV_RGB_DSC_0012

The card looked a little plain and so I dotted some black, silver and red gemstones around the card to finish off.

Thanks for looking!

22 thoughts on “Runway Inspired Challenge #36 – Electric Feathers

  1. Virginia Lu says:

    Wow, your hard work really paid off! I LOVE the dimensions of these chevrons! The inking and shading are totally gorgeous! Thank you for joining the fun with us at Runway Inspired Challenge!

  2. elenac723 says:

    What a GORGEOUS card…I just had to comment and tell you what an inspiration this card is to me…I am signing up for email updates from you…thanks so much for sharing.

  3. BarbGhig says:

    Congrats to you on your well deserved win! This is such an amazing card…worth every bit of work you put into it…I love your shading, too!!!

  4. Lynda says:

    Congrats on winning the RIC! I had to come visit to learn how you made it – it just looks so interesting!

  5. Jen W. says:

    This is stunning! Big congrats on your well deserved win. The dimension you’ve created is so cool and totally worth the fuss of all those tiny bits of adhesive. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.