Hi there – just popping by to sharing a card showcasing the limited edition stamp set In Bloom: Julie’s Roses. If you spend over $35 during the Black Friday sale, you get the set free! Here’s what I came up with:

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter Black Friday, November 2016. In Bloom: Julie's Roses.

The large, solid images in this stamp set made me want to take out my Dylusions Ink Sprays again, but this time to stamp with, rather than spray. This is a technique I’ve used before and its great fun, because within a matter of minutes, you can whip up a super cool floral background!

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter Black Friday, November 2016. In Bloom: Julie's Roses.

I began by lightly spritzing a piece of watercolour paper with water and then stamping straight into the damp areas with the solid images, first with Postbox Red and then with Dirty Martini. As you can imagine, the ink moves around quite quickly once it touches the water – the aim here is not to get the perfect impression of the stamp, but rather a loose interpretation of it.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter Black Friday, November 2016. In Bloom: Julie's Roses.

I heat set the panel and then stamped over the colourful areas with the actual rose images using Versafine Onyx Black Ink. This helped to add definition to the vibrant watercolours underneath. I also took a white gel pen to add a little highlight to some of the areas before trimming the panel down to slightly smaller than my card base.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie & Walter Black Friday, November 2016. In Bloom: Julie's Roses.

I foam mounted the panel to the white card base and moved onto the sentiment. I stamped the small greeting onto a piece of black cardstock with Versamark Ink, sprinkled with white embossing powder and heat set. I then adhered the sentiment strip to the card front and finished up with a few gold sequins.

Thanks for stopping by!

