Hello there!

Welcome to another day of exciting previews from the My Favorite Things October Release!

NewReleaseCountdown_Day2

For Countdown Day 2, we’re showcasing Laina Lamb’s Stay Cool stamp set and Cool Cup Die-namics; the Streetlights Die-namics; Stitched Cover-Up Companion – Diagonal Die-namics; the Merry Christmas Centerpieces Die-namics and the Crosshatch Background stamp and stencil. Here’s my first card:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Merry Christmas Centerpieces Die-namics.

The Merry Christmas Centerpieces Die-namics set is perfect for creating shaker cards, but I wanted to try something a little different, and created a background panel with the dies.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Merry Christmas Centerpieces Die-namics.

I repeatedly die-cut the Merry Christmas Centerpieces out of a panel of white cardstock, starting with the main one in the centre and working my way outwards. When I was happy, I used the largest frame die from Blueprints 25 Die-Namics to trim the piece down to the same size as my card base.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Merry Christmas Centerpieces Die-namics.

On a panel of watercolour paper, I created a vibrant, inky background simply by applying droplets of Dylusions Ink sprays onto a large acrylic block, lightly spritzing with water and stamping the block down onto the paper. I heat set the panel and adhered it straight down onto the card base.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Merry Christmas Centerpieces Die-namics.

I foam mounted the die-cut piece on top and finished off with a few sequins. Here’s my second card:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Crosshatch stencil.

I began by creating a background panel using the Crosshatch stencil – this technique is so easy and one I will definitely be using again! I taped down a panel of white cardstock to my work surface and then laid the stencil down on top, again securing with a bit of washitape.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Crosshatch stencil.

I picked some vibrant ZIG Clean Color Real Brush Pens and very roughly brushed through the stencil and onto the cardstock. While the stencil was still in place, I heavily misted the the panel with water until the colours started to blend and bleed. Simple as that, no trickery here 😉

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Crosshatch stencil.

After a few seconds, I carefully lifted the stencil away revealing this awesome background! And of course, I ummed and ahhed about how I was going to use it 🙂 I used the Stitched Mountain Range Die-namics to create a sort of snow bank and stamped a sentiment from Hand Lettered Holiday in the bottom left hand corner.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Crosshatch stencil.

On a white card base and on some masking paper, I stamped a couple of images from Winter Wonderland with black dye ink. I fussy cut the masks out and adhered them to the card front before sponging some Tumbled Glass Distress ink.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT October Release Countdown Day 2. Crosshatch stencil.

I then removed the masks and foam mounted the die-cut, stencilled panel to the card. To finish, I added some matching sequins!

Don’t forget to check out the My Favorite Things Blog for today’s full product reveal, giveaways and links to lots of fabulous projects from the rest of the MFT Design Team members!

Thanks for stopping by!

