Hello there – today I’m sharing a card for the May MFT Ingenious Inking challenge. This month we’re focusing on watercolour and all the wonderful ways of creating that dreamy, ethereal look for your cards using MFT ink pads or refills!

MFT_IngeniousInking_SideBar

I chose to play with some of the MFT dye ink pads in Persimmon, Steel Grey and Pure Plum to create this shaker card:

©Candles in the Garden. May MFT Ingenious Inking Challenge | Watercolour Wash.

I absolutely love these MFT dye ink pads and was very surprised to see how they reacted with water whilst retaining their vibrancy ;-). I pressed each ink pad onto a piece of stamp packaging and lightly spritzed with water – when I was satisfied with how the colours were mixing, I placed it ink side down onto some watercolour paper.

©Candles in the Garden. May MFT Ingenious Inking Challenge | Watercolour Wash.

As I pulled the piece of stamp packaging away, some of the ink transferred patchily whilst some of it continued to react and marble, creating such a varied look.

©Candles in the Garden. May MFT Ingenious Inking Challenge | Watercolour Wash.

I heat set the inky panel, used the largest frame die from Blueprints 25 to trim it down and then die-cut an oval from the centre. This formed the main element of my shaker…

©Candles in the Garden. May MFT Ingenious Inking Challenge | Watercolour Wash.

I stamped a sentiment from Birthday Chalkboard Greetings onto a white card base with black dye ink, laid some sequins on top and foam mounted the inky panel to trap them behind a clear piece of acetate.

©Candles in the Garden. May MFT Ingenious Inking Challenge | Watercolour Wash.

Be sure you stop by the MFT Stamps blog for loads of awesome inspiration and links to lots of fabulous projects from the rest of the MFT Design Team members!

Thanks for stopping by 😉

