Hello there, and thanks for stopping by…

All week this week, we’ve been celebrating inspiration and sharing stories and photos on the My Favorite Things blog.

Print

Each day has focussed on a different theme:

May 11 – Tell us about an Inspirational Teacher You Once Had
May 12 – Tell us your Favorite Inspirational Quote
May 13 – Tell us about an Inspirational Coach or Mentor You Once Had
May 14 – What Historical Figure Inspires You and Why?

Today, we’re focussing on famous artists and how they inspired us. I chose Piet Mondrian and here’s the card I prepared:

©Candles in the Garden. MFT Inspired By Famous Artist (Piet Mondrian).

When I began researching artists, I was reminded of my time at school and then art college, where we would often learn about famous artists and their work. Mondrian’s work was something that stuck with me, and I suppose, can sometimes be seen in some of my card designs.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT Inspired By Famous Artist (Piet Mondrian).

I really admire his use of clean, white lines contrasted with a limited colour palette of blue, red, black and yellow. Here’s an example of one of his paintings:

Piet Mondrian. Victory Boogie-Woogie, 1944
Piet Mondrian, Victory Boogie-Woogie, 1944
Source

To prepare my design, I used the doors from the Barn Die-Namics and die-cut them eight times out of white cardstock. I wanted to use the main pieces to form the framework of the pattern that appears on the card front.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT Inspired By Famous Artist (Piet Mondrian).

For the coloured pieces, I swiped Mustard Seed, Festive Berries, Chipped Sapphire and Black Soot Distress Inks onto panels of white cardstock and then used the same dies to get the triangle pieces.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT Inspired By Famous Artist (Piet Mondrian).

I grabbed a double sided adhesive sheet, stuck it onto a scrap piece of paper and burnished it to ensure the adhesive was applied firmly. I then removed the liner paper and adhered the white ‘door’ die-cuts to the sticky area. The coloured triangles were then inlaid into the design.

©Candles in the Garden. MFT Inspired By Famous Artist (Piet Mondrian).

I trimmed the inlaid die-cut piece out and foam mounted it to a card base. The sentiment comes from For the Boys and was stamped with black dye ink.

Be sure you stop by the MFT Stamps blog for loads of awesome inspiration, giveaways and links to lots of fabulous projects from the rest of the MFT Design Team members!

🙂

