Hey everyone!

Today is the fifth and final day of the May release from Neat & Tangled, and it ends with another fabulous stamp set!

NT Release Graphic.jpg

Day 5 is for For the Record, a 6×4″ stamp set that includes an awesome record player with some truly witty sentiments!

Print

Here’s my card:

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAY15 Release - Day 5, For the Record.

I began with one of my favourite inky techniques but instead of using Distress Inks, I used some of the Hero Arts Shadow Inks to create a background panel. I smooshed some Raspberry Jam and Lemon Yellow ink onto a craft matt, spritzed with some water and used my finger to blend some of the harsh ink pad marks away – this is what Betsy Veldman demonstrates beautifully here.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAY15 Release - Day 5, For the Record.

I laid a piece of cardstock onto the shadow ink mixture, dabbing lightly to pick up more ink, lifted the panel out and heat set. I only repeated the process once more as I found that the shadow inks didn’t react the same way as Distress Inks do, in that they didn’t stay wet as long. But I still liked the result!

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAY15 Release - Day 5, For the Record.

I die-cut the panel to slightly smaller than my card front and foam mounted it to a kraft card base. I stamped the record player onto a piece of white cardstock with Archival Jet Black ink and watercoloured with Vintage Photo and Aged Mahogany Distress Inks. To emphasise the grooves in the record, I went in with a black marker.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAY15 Release - Day 5, For the Record.

The hinges and the corners of the record player were painted with Delicata Golden Glitz – I fussy-cut the image out and foam mounted to the card front.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAY15 Release - Day 5, For the Record.

To finish, I added a couple of sequins – pop by the Neat & Tangled Blog to see what the rest of the DT has created – all the sets that we have showcased this week are now available in the shop!

Thanks for looking 😉

