Hello there!

Today is the fourth day of the March release from Neat & Tangled, and its a beauty!

NT Release Graphic.jpg

Day 4 is for Meowwww and has been designed by my sweet, talented friend, May Sukyong Park! The set features some whimsical images of cats (May has two!) and supporting sentiments. They are perfect for colouring with watercolours, Copics or whatever your preferred medium is!

Print

Here’s what I came up with:

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 4. Meowwww / watercolour smooshing technique.

I began by creating a watercolour panel that could ground the little cat images – I followed the technique that Betsy Veldman demonstrated here. Essentially, its smooshing your ink pads onto a slick surface in a more considered way, spritzing with water and laying your cardstock panel into it.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 4. Meowwww / watercolour smooshing technique.

I used Distress Inks for my watercolouring, but I have been experimenting with other ink types and the effects can vary quite a bit…I heat set the panel and trimmed it to be slightly smaller than my card base before stamping the sentiment towards the bottom with black dye ink.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 4. Meowwww / watercolour smooshing technique.

On a separate piece of white cardstock, I stamped two of the cat images with black dye ink and watercoloured them both in, again using Distress Inks. I then fussy-cut both cats and went round the edges with a black brush-tip marker to hide the white core of the cardstock.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 4. Meowwww / watercolour smooshing technique.

I foam mounted the cats to the watercolour panel and then stamped the small speech bubble and heart images from the set above them. I filled the heart with Xmas Red Stickles, and once it had dried, I foam mounted the whole panel to my card base.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 4. Meowwww / watercolour smooshing technique.

I hope you’re enjoying the March Release so far! Be sure to visit the Neat & Tangled Blog to see what the rest of the DT has created – all the sets that we are showcasing this week will be available on Friday, 13 March at 8am EST in the shop!

Thanks for stopping by!

