Hello again!

Time to showcase some more goodies from the Neat & Tangled March Release!

NT Release Graphic.jpg

Day 2 is for the coordinating Dala Horse stamp set and dies, along with the gorgeous Scandinavian Flowers stamp set. These sets work so well together – the possibilities for making beautiful, floral backgrounds is endless!

Print DIESinsert Print

Here’s my first card:

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 2. Dala Horse.

I wanted to do something fairly clean and simple using the Dala Horse set, so began by creating a coloured panel with my Distress Inks. I smooshed a couple of ink pads onto my craft mat, spritzed with water and laid a panel of white cardstock into the inky puddles. I lifted the panel and heat set whilst the inks were mixing! I repeated the process until I was happy.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 2. Dala Horse.

I stamped the Dala Horse image from the set with black dye ink onto the coloured panel and cut out with the coordinating die. For a bit of something extra, I used a white gel pen to add some details and colouring to the image and then set aside to work on the card base.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 2. Dala Horse.

I flicked some Tarnished Brass Distress Stain over the card base for some interest before foam mounting the horse to the front and stamping a sentiment from the same set beneath him. Clean, simple and fast yet effective, I think 😉 Here’s my second card:

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 2. Scandinavian Flowers.

The original idea behind this card changed a few times while I was creating it, but I’m happy with the end result. Took me a lot longer to make than the first one though! I began by tracing around an oval die onto a card base to act as a guideline for my stamping.

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 2. Scandinavian Flowers.

I stamped the sentiment in the middle of the oval with black dye ink and then used the various branch and flower images to create a border around it. I coloured these in with my Gansai Tambi Watercolour set but decided I needed to pop some of the flowers off the card too. So, I stamped and coloured on another piece of cardstock, fussy cut out some of the flowers and adhered to the card. Its a small detail, but I like it 😉

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 2. Scandinavian Flowers.

To finish, I added some gemstones to the flower centres and left it at that! I think I must have been channelling my inner Laura Bassen when I was making this card…reminds me of so many of her beautiful cards!

©Candles in the Garden. Neat and Tangled MAR15 Release - Day 2. Scandinavian Flowers.

Be sure to check out the Neat & Tangled Blog to see what the rest of the DT has created – all the sets that we are showcasing this week will be available on Friday, 13 March at 8am EST in the shop!

Thanks for stopping by 😉

