Hello and welcome to a very special blog post!

Today, a few of us are celebrating JE Shay’s birthday – Shay is one half of the amazingly generous team behind Winnie & Walter. Her partner, Julie, has put together this wonderful blog hop in honour of Shay’s big day.

shay's-birthday-celebration-bloghop-graphic

Hopefully, you have arrived from Kelly Griglione’s blog and after me, you’re next stop is Vanessa Menhorn! Here’s my card – I dabbled with a bit of watercolouring for this one, having felt so inspired by this card from Debby Hughes. Debby makes everything look so effortless and elegant!

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie and Walter / JE Shay Birthday Blog Hop

I began by stamping the rough outline of my design onto a white cardstock panel with black ink, using images from Winnie and Walter’s Sugar Rush (the cake stand, the cake and the little cake topper flags). I also inked up Mini Scenery: The Peppermint Zone with Spun Sugar Distress Ink, misted with water, dabbed away some of the ink around the edges and then stamped on top. I trimmed this piece down to slightly smaller than the card base with the largest frame from Avery Elle’s Finished Frames ELLE-ments set.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie and Walter / JE Shay Birthday Blog Hop

On a separate piece of cardstock, I heat embossed the cake image in white so that it would act as a resist. This was the piece that Debby’s technique was used on – I painted some water all over the cake, then dipped my brush into some watercolour paint and lightly dabbed the left side of the image – the water literally does the work for you! Here’s a closeup:

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie and Walter / JE Shay Birthday Blog Hop

After I finished watercolouring the cake, I fussy cut it out and moved on to colouring the flags on the cake topper. I then took some really tiny heart and star dies from Finished Frames to die-cut the apertures for the shaker. I adhered a piece of acetate on the back of the cake and added foam pads all around the edges before filling with chunky silver glitter.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie and Walter / JE Shay Birthday Blog Hop

The cake was then paper pieced in place on the stamped panel. I flicked some gold ink splats for a bit of interest and moved onto the sentiment. I stamped the outline banner image from Winnie and Walter’s The Big, the Bold and Extras onto some pattern paper and then stamped the sentiment from Clearly Besotted’s A Little Sentimental. This too was fussy cut out and then foam mounted to the main panel.

©Candles in the Garden. Winnie and Walter / JE Shay Birthday Blog Hop

Finally, I foam mounted the whole thing to a card base and added some gold and silver sequins! Phew – that was a long one 😉

Happy Birthday Shay 😉

In case you missed a stop, here’s the entire blog hop list – thanks for stopping by!

Winnie & Walter Blog
Joni Andaya
Suzanne Dahlberg
Kelly Griglione
Mayuri – << you are here!
Vanessa Menhorn
Gayatri Murali
Heather Pulvirenti
Laura Sterckx

