Hello there and welcome to this week’s Runway Inspired Challenge! We have another awesome inspiration photo and the chance to win a prize from Ellen Hutson.

albert martincich
ric#70

Here’s my card:

©Candles in the Garden. RIC70. Watercoloured chevrons and a die-cut deer.

The bold colour palette really made me want to try something different so I took a piece of watercolour paper and roughly drew a chevron design. I painted masking fluid loosely in areas that I wanted to keep white and set aside to dry.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC70. Watercoloured chevrons and a die-cut deer.

Once the masking fluid had set, I spritzed the panel with water and began dripping red (Postbox Red Dylusions Ink Spray) and black (Black Soot Distress Ink) inks into the non-masked areas, allowing them to bleed into one another.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC70. Watercoloured chevrons and a die-cut deer.

I spritzed more water onto the panel but this time with a hint of Perfect Pearls. Once this had dried, I peeled up the masking fluid to reveal the white areas! Now, my next dilemma was what to do with such a pretty panel!

©Candles in the Garden. RIC70. Watercoloured chevrons and a die-cut deer.

I used a die from the Impression Obsession Deer Trio set and die-cut it from the centre of the panel. On a kraft card base, I smushed some Delicata Golden Glitz ink in the area that would show through the aperture. I also smushed some onto a strip of kraft cardstock and then stamped a sentiment from the newly released Winter Wishes set from Neat and Tangled.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC70. Watercoloured chevrons and a die-cut deer.

To assemble the card, I foam mounted the panel to the card base, and then foam mounted the sentiment strip on top of that. I added a couple of Gold Sprinkles from Doodlebug and called it done!

Be sure to stop by the Runway Inspired Challenge blog for more inspiration from the rest of the DT members!

Jennifer | Taheerah | Kristen | Aga | Tasnim | Gayatri | Lindsay | Karolyn

