Hello and welcome to a new Runway Inspired Challenge!

This week, we’re being sponsored by Ellen Hutson and we have the awesome Karolyn Loncon joining us as Guest Designer! Our amazing inspiration pic comes from the Alice and Olivia Fall 2014 collection and it is another stunner…check out those butterflies on the skirt!!!

ric#56
Olivia_010_1366.450x675

Here’s my take:

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 56. Spray misted background and stamped butterflies.

As with a lot of my cards, I tend to create more than one background panel just in case something doesn’t turn out how I thought it would…that was the case here. The panel on the card was my last attempt out of three, believe it or not! I misted three pieces of white cardstock with a mixture of homemade sprays and Dylusions, heat set and put to one side.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 56. Spray misted background and stamped butterflies.

I might share the other two ‘experiments’ some day, but for this card, I brought out every single butterfly stamp that I own and stamped onto the misted panel with Jet Black Archival Ink. I tried to be as symmetrical as possible, just like the pattern on the skirt…

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 56. Spray misted background and stamped butterflies.

I die-cut the Memory Box Vivienne butterfly from the panel giving me an aperture for creating a shaker card. I did this by creating a pocket out of some left over stamp packaging and filling with a few metallic turquoise sequins. The whole panel was then foam mounted to a white card base.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 56. Spray misted background and stamped butterflies.

I embellished with a few more of those sequins on the front of the card along with a sentiment from Mama Elephant’s Many Thanks stamp set, which was heat embossed in black on some orange vellum. 

Thanks for stopping by – check out the Runway Inspired Challenge blog for more inspiration from the rest of the DT members and play along for a chance to win an awesome prize!

Virginia | Jennifer | Taheerah | Joni | Kristen | Pamela | Aga | Tasnim

