Hey everyone!

My post today is for the awesome Runway Inspired Challenge and the sponsor for this one is Ellen Hutson – be sure to enter one of your fabulous creations for the chance to win a great prize! Here’s the inspiration pic (source):

dennis basso
ric52

And here’s my somewhat graphic take – I tried so hard to create something more whimsical, to match the qualities of the dress, but instead came up with this:

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 52 - Distress Inks swiped onto vellum strips and mounted onto card base.

The technique had all the premise of something whimsy – I started with some vellum strips which I swiped with different coloured Distress Inks (I chose colours that matched the model’s dress). I spritzed the inked strips with Perfect Pearls mist for some texture and then heat set before adhering them straight down onto my card base.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 52 - Distress Inks swiped onto vellum strips and mounted onto card base.

The strips overlapped in some places where I went for a slightly uneven look – some were straight and some, not so straight 😉 Then I stamped the Personal Impressions LMK 3D Super Two doily image in Versafine Onyx Black on top of the coloured vellum strips – the ink didn’t transfer all the way to the card base in some places so I did a bit of retouching with a thin black marker.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 52 - Distress Inks swiped onto vellum strips and mounted onto card base.

The sentiment comes from Papertrey Ink’s Stylish Sentiments: Birthday Set and I stamped it onto a white cardstock frame before foam mounting onto the card base.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 52 - Distress Inks swiped onto vellum strips and mounted onto card base.

To finish, I added a couple of sequins and my card was complete!

Thanks for looking – stop by the Runway Inspired Challenge blog for more inspiration from the rest of the DT members!

Virginia
Jennifer
Taheerah
Joni
Kristen
Pamela
Aga
Tasnim

