Hello, hello!

This is my first post as part of the Runway Inspired Design Team, and I am so thrilled to be on board ;-). For the first Runway Inspired Challenge of 2014, our sponsor is Simon Says Stamp and if you play along, you have a chance of winning a fabulous prize! Here’s the inspiration pic:

l'wren scott
ric51

And here’s my card – I wanted to use some of my newer supplies and one of my favourite Distress Ink techniques to create the blue tones:

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 51 - Distress Inks, die-cut sentiment and sequins.

I smushed some Chipped Sapphire Distress Ink onto a craft sheet, spritzed with a Perfect Pearls water solution and swiped a white panel through the mixture. I heat set the panel, and then swiped it through the mixture again, dabbing more in some areas than others.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 51 - Distress Inks, die-cut sentiment and sequins.

I repeated the process until I achieved the desired look – not too shabby and not too chic ;-). I used the Papertrey Ink Tag Sale #3 die to die-cut the tag shape twice – once from the Distress Inked panel, and once from some red cardstock.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 51 - Distress Inks, die-cut sentiment and sequins.

I also die-cut the word Love from the Distress Inked tag and from the red cardstock using the Paper Smooches Love Word die. I paper pieced everything back together, layered one tag on top of the other, fastened with the reinforcer die-cut shape and some natural twine.

©Candles in the Garden. RIC 51 - Distress Inks, die-cut sentiment and sequins.

Finally, I adhered the tags to a white cardstock base and dotted a few sequins around to finish off!

Thanks for looking – be sure to take a look at the awesomeness created by the rest of the DT over at the Runway Inspired Challenge blog!

Virginia
Jennifer
Taheerah
Joni
Kristen
Pamela
Aga
Tasnim

