Hello and happy new year!

Welcome to the first CAS-ual Fridays Challenge for 2014! The theme this week is In a Word, so instead of a resolution, choose a word that describes what you hope for in the new year (maybe it’s love if you want to work on your relationships, or do if you want to challenge yourself to something, or laugh if you want to lighten up, etc.).

cfc125

I chose the word *smile*, as its something I’m hoping to do more of in the new year 😉

©Candles in the Garden. Gold heat embossed background stamp from Impression Obsession, coloured with Distress Inks

I started by stamping the Ornate Floral image from Impression Obsession with Versamark, and sprinkling with gold embossing powder. Once heat set, I chose some bright Distress Inks to colour all the non-stamped areas…

©Candles in the Garden. Gold heat embossed background stamp from Impression Obsession, coloured with Distress Inks

I trimmed the embossed panel down and die-cut a banner shape from it to reveal the golden brown, galvanised card base beneath. On another piece of cardstock, I partially stamped a sentiment from the Mama Elephant Smitten set and die-cut the banner tips on one side.

©Candles in the Garden. Gold heat embossed background stamp from Impression Obsession, coloured with Distress Inks

I adhered the sentiment strip just above the die-cut banner shape – I remember first seeing this effect on a card by the wonderfully talented Laura Bassen here. I think this is a great technique if you want to showcase as much of your background as possible 😉

©Candles in the Garden. Gold heat embossed background stamp from Impression Obsession, coloured with Distress Inks

Finally, I added some punched some butterflies, and voila! This card makes me smile – it has a really ornate look to it but took no time at all to make!

Thanks for looking – be sure to take a look at what the rest of the DT have been up to! Our sponsor is CAS-ual Fridays Stamps, and one lucky winner gets a wonderful prize – more details are on the CAS-ual Fridays challenge blog!

CFS+Blog+Button

