Hey hey everyone, its time for another CAS-ual Fridays Challenge! This week’s theme is Out on a Limb and it would be great if you could all play along!

cfc122

You’ve got to use trees on your project and the possibilities are endless! Here’s my card:

©Candles in the Garden. Sweet Poppy Stencil, watercolouring and Memory Box die.

I started by inking up a stencil from Sweet Poppy called A Walk in the Park with Versamark, and stamping it onto some watercolour paper – for extra coverage, I rolled it through my Grand Calibur, resulting in a slightly letterpressed look. I sprinkled with clear embossing powder and heat set.

©Candles in the Garden. Sweet Poppy Stencil, watercolouring and Memory Box die.

Then came the fun bit 😉 I sponged various colours of Distress Ink over the embossed image and then went in with a water brush to blend together – I loved the result and almost left it there!

©Candles in the Garden. Sweet Poppy Stencil, watercolouring and Memory Box die.

Once dry, I mounted the watercolour panel to a black card base and went on to the next step – to draw some snow banks. I did this loosely with a pencil on some white cardstock, cut them out, sponged Tumbled Glass Distress Ink on the edges and then lined them with a silver Wink of Stella pen.

©Candles in the Garden. Sweet Poppy Stencil, watercolouring and Memory Box die.

The sentiment comes from the Hero Arts Miracle of the Holidays set, and I stamped it in Versafine Onyx Black. I foam mounted the snow banks to the watercolour panel and added a die-cut tree (Memory Box Twiggy Tree) in between the layers. I finished up with a punched out red heart, covered in Christmas Red Stickles.

Thanks for looking – check out what the rest of the DT have been up to! Our sponsor is Ellen Hutson, and one lucky winner gets a fabulous prize – more details are on the CAS-ual Fridays challenge blog!

Ellen_Hutson_Logo

