Tags

, , , ,

Hello, hello!

When I saw this JustRite Friday Challenge #110 – Bleach Stamping, I was reminded of my days at school studying art and couldn’t wait to play along! I remember using bleach on so many different things – did you know, it works on coloured tissue paper and on drawing inks too? Here’s my card:

©Candles in the Garden. JustRite Challenge 110. Bleach stamping.

I started by inking up a panel of white cardstock with brown, blue and green drawing inks and spritzing with a Perfect Pearls / water mixture. I used an acrylic block to move the ink around and create some texture, and then I heat set.

©Candles in the Garden. JustRite Challenge 110. Bleach stamping.

So, the magic happens when you stamp an image onto the inked panel with bleach – I followed Beate‘s tutorial and created a makeshift bleach pad, and stamped some of the frames from the JustRite For All You Do set. Almost immediately, you can see the effect of the bleach on the inked panel…

©Candles in the Garden. JustRite Challenge 110. Bleach stamping.

I did find that the more solid images seemed to stamp better with the bleach than the intricate frames, but I liked the effect all the same! Once I was happy, I let the panel dry and trimmed down for my card base. I stamped a sentiment from the Ali Edwards Incredible set onto vellum with Versafine Onyx Black, sprinkled some clear embossing powder and heat set.

©Candles in the Garden. JustRite Challenge 110. Bleach stamping.

I wrapped the sentiment strip around the bleached panel and adhered to a kraft card base. Finally, I added some tiny wood veneer stars from Studio Calico.

Thanks for looking!

