Hello and welcome to another CAS-ual Fridays Challenge – this one is a good one, I promise, especially as its being sponsored by none other than CAS-ual Fridays Stamps! Woot, woot!! I even got to use some of the newest released goodies for this challenge, which is called Tags and Bags and all you have to do is…make a bag…and a tag 😉

CFS+Blog+Button   cfc118

Here’s mine:

©Candles in the Garden. CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 118 - Tags and Bags. Funky Square Tag Fri-Dies used as a stencil and for partial die-cutting technique.

I knew exactly what I was going to to do when I saw the Funky Square Tag Fri-Dies, especially with that cute Funky Element! I also wanted to see if I could extend the usage of the square tag die and create a longer tag instead, with the help of some partial die cutting – you can find so many tutorials on how to do this online, but I found this one from Kristina Werner really easy to follow.

©Candles in the Garden. CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 118 - Tags and Bags. Funky Square Tag Fri-Dies used as a stencil and for partial die-cutting technique.

First, I started by creating my treat bag from a plain white, square envelope – this has got to be by far the quickest way to create a treat bag (unless like me, you spend ages decorating it ;-))! I used the Funky Element die to create a makeshift stencil, through which I sponged three colours of Distress Ink (Mustard Seed in the middle, then Festive Berries, and Peacock Feathers on the edges).

©Candles in the Garden. CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 118 - Tags and Bags. Funky Square Tag Fri-Dies used as a stencil and for partial die-cutting technique.

I did this on both sides of the envelope and the flap too. To fill in the gaps, I stamped the Mini 4 petal image from the Christmas Carols set. Then I used the square die to die-cut a window on both sides of the envelope to reveal the treat inside! Once I’d made up my bag, I moved on to the tag.

©Candles in the Garden. CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 118 - Tags and Bags. Funky Square Tag Fri-Dies used as a stencil and for partial die-cutting technique.

I used the same inks to create three coloured panels, and layered together these would form my complete tag. I used the Square Tag die to cut three tag shapes, the top one being the normal size and the two beneath being extended.

©Candles in the Garden. CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 118 - Tags and Bags. Funky Square Tag Fri-Dies used as a stencil and for partial die-cutting technique.

I partially stamped a sentiment from the Christmas Carols set and put a gemstone in the middle to finish up…I love how this whole project turned out – check out what the rest of the DT have come up with too!

Thanks for looking 😉

