Hello, hello!

I’m playing along with Challenge #19 for Pinspired today – my first one. I was feeling really inspired by this card by the fabulous Laura Bassen, but also by the awesome colours from the inspiration pin…

pc19

Here’s my card…

Pinspired Challenge 19. Impression Obsession Paisley Background stamp, Distress Inks and a handmade stencil. ©Candles in the Garden

I’m not sure if you can see it so well in the photo above, but I started by stamping my card base with some white pigment ink and the Impression Obsession CAC Small Paisley background. I pulled out a handmade stencil and laid it on top of my stamped card base, and gathered some Distress Inks.

PINS_19_RGB_DSC_0225

Pinspired Challenge 19. Impression Obsession Paisley Background stamp, Distress Inks and a handmade stencil. ©Candles in the Garden

I sponged the Distress Inks through the stencil onto the card base starting in the bottom right hand corner with Seedless Preserves and ending in the top with Salty Ocean.

Pinspired Challenge 19. Impression Obsession Paisley Background stamp, Distress Inks and a handmade stencil. ©Candles in the Garden

I quite liked the subtle effect of the paisley pattern coming through – gave me just enough colour to think about how I wanted to position my sentiment, which came from the Mama Elephant Smitten set.

Pinspired Challenge 19. Impression Obsession Paisley Background stamp, Distress Inks and a handmade stencil. ©Candles in the Garden

After stamping the sentiment in Versafine Onyx Black ink onto a strip of white cardstock, I trimmed it into two and foam mounted onto the card base at a diagonal (saw this on a few cards by Maile Belles).

Pinspired Challenge 19. Impression Obsession Paisley Background stamp, Distress Inks and a handmade stencil. ©Candles in the Garden

Finished up by adding a few shiny black sequins! Thanks for looking 😉

