Hello again!

This week’s theme for the CAS-ual Fridays challenge is In Stitches – this can be faux or real, however you choose to interpret it. Our sponsor is Simon Says Stamp, and one lucky winner gets a fabulous prize – more deets on the CAS-ual Fridays challenge blog!

SimonSaysStamp_160x240    cfc117

I’m tellin’ ya, you could go so many different ways with this one, the possibilities are endless. I chose to add my faux stitching by way of dashed lines around the edges of my focal panel. Here’s my card:

CAS-ual Fridays CFC117 In Stitches challenge. Embossing paste background and die-cut butterflies. Avery Elle sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

My background panel is watercolour paper which I spritzed with water, and then with some Dylusions Ink sprays – if you haven’t tried these yet, you absolutely must! They are a-w-e-s-o-m-e! In a typical Dyan Reaveley way, I used some kitchen towel to mop up the excess ink and water. I heat set my background and then moved on to the next process.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC117 In Stitches challenge. Embossing paste background and die-cut butterflies. Avery Elle sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

I grabbed some gold embossing paste and swiped it through the a mini quatrefoil stencil onto my background panel. I couldn’t wait for it to dry (itchy fingers!), and wanted to help it along with my heat gun – BUT! I remembered seeing this fabulous technique on one of Debby Hughes’ posts where she’d sprinkled some silver embossing power on to the paste….OMG…as I heat set the embossing powder and the paste, my panel literally started bubbling in front of me! That’s how I managed to get that grungy effect!

CAS-ual Fridays CFC117 In Stitches challenge. Embossing paste background and die-cut butterflies. Avery Elle sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

I really liked the effect and almost didn’t want to cut the panel apart…but I did. I cut it in half lengthways and then put the two halves back together again before I die-cut the butterflies. This left me with both negative and the positive pieces, which I adhered with foam pads to my card base. I drew the faux stitching all the way around and partially stamped a sentiment from the Avery Elle Lots of Love set (which coincidentally had a bit of stitching going on too! Lucky me!).

CAS-ual Fridays CFC117 In Stitches challenge. Embossing paste background and die-cut butterflies. Avery Elle sentiment. ©Candles in the Garden.

I’m hoping you can see how gorgeous the background looks in the above photo – definitely a technique I will be using again!

Don’t forget to check out the projects from the rest of the DT, and as always, thanks for stopping by 😉

