Hello, and welcome!

The theme for this week’s CAS-ual Fridays Challenge is Fall Colours and a Leaf. Our sponsor is Simon Says Stamp and you’ve got two whole weeks to play along!

cfc115

SimonSaysStamp_160x240

More details for the challenge can be found here, where I hope you’ll feel inspired by all the other Design Team’s projects. Here’s my card:

CAS-ual Fridays CFC115 Challenge - Fall Colours and leaves. Hero Arts Woodgrain stamp and WPlus9 Sentiment stamps. ©Candles in the Garden

I was a bit stumped on this one, and it took me three attempts to get to a card that I was happy with. I always knew I wanted to incorporate the Hero Arts Woodgrain stamp in some way, as it goes so well with a kraft cardstock.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC115 Challenge - Fall Colours and leaves. Hero Arts Woodgrain stamp and WPlus9 Sentiment stamps. ©Candles in the Garden

I stamped the Woodgrain image in Versamark onto the kraft, and sprinkled with clear embossing powder. After heat setting, I set it aside to work on my focal elements. I stamped the large ribbon image from the WPlus9 Written on Ribbon set in Walnut Stain Distress Ink and again sprinkled with clear embossing powder, just for a bit of shine.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC115 Challenge - Fall Colours and leaves. Hero Arts Woodgrain stamp and WPlus9 Sentiment stamps. ©Candles in the Garden

I die-cut my ribbon image out using the matching die from WPlus9 and then stamped the co-ordinating sentiments from the same stamp set in Versafine Onyx Black ink. These are so itty-bitty and perfect for an understated card! I foam mounted the ribbon to my card base.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC115 Challenge - Fall Colours and leaves. Hero Arts Woodgrain stamp and WPlus9 Sentiment stamps. ©Candles in the Garden

For my leaves, I started by creating an inked panel and a combination of techniques (the lengths I would go to for something so small!). I smushed fall/autumn coloured Distress Inks onto my craft sheet, laid a piece of white cardstock into it, lifted and heat set. I repeated the process a few times until I had enough of a background to play with. I also sprayed the panel with homemade mists for a bit of added depth. Here’s what the panel looked like after I punched out my leaves:

CAS-ual Fridays CFC115 Challenge - Fall Colours and leaves. Hero Arts Woodgrain stamp and WPlus9 Sentiment stamps. ©Candles in the Garden

The Frond punch is by Martha Stewart. I added three of them around my foam mounted ribbon image and embellished with some Neat & Tangled satin sequins.

I hope you can play along – this is another great two week challenge!

