Hello!

When I first saw the inspiration piece for Runway Inspired Challenge #43 – Lela Rose, I knew I wanted to create a card based on it…how could you not, its so graphic?!

ric#43

LelaRose_007_1366.450x675

Those clean lines and simple colour scheme had me hooked…and then I saw the DT’s takes on the photo, and I was in awe. Here’s my offering:

Runway Inspired Challenge 43. Lattice Background stamp, Distress Inks and a yellow glossy accent heart. ©Candles in the Garden

I started by swiping some Black Soot and Pumice Stone Distress Inks on a white panel and spritzing with Perfect Pearls mist, then heat setting to dry before white embossing the JustRite Lattice Background stamp. I trimmed the panel down to slightly smaller than my card base, and smushed some more Black Soot all over it to intensify the white embossing.

Runway Inspired Challenge 43. Lattice Background stamp, Distress Inks and a yellow glossy accent heart. ©Candles in the Garden

Then I grabbed the Vintage Labels Three dies, and used the two smallest ones as stencils to dab some Mustard Seed Distress Ink onto some white cardstock. While the dies were still in place, I die-cut the two labels and set aside to dry.

Runway Inspired Challenge 43. Lattice Background stamp, Distress Inks and a yellow glossy accent heart. ©Candles in the Garden

Once the yellow labels had dried, I stamped the Personal Impressions LMK 3D Super Two stamp in Versafine Onyx Black, and foam mounted the smaller label onto the larger one. I created the sentiment banner by folding a strip of cardstock in half, ‘V’ cutting the ends and opening out. Then I snipped it in half, leaving me with two small banner tails. I adhered them both together slightly offset from one another after I swiped some Pumice Stone ink on the bottom one.

Runway Inspired Challenge 43. Lattice Background stamp, Distress Inks and a yellow glossy accent heart. ©Candles in the Garden

The sentiment and heart comes from the Paper Smooches Word Salad stamp set and fit perfectly on the small banner! I coloured the heart in with a Mustard Seed Distress Marker and covered with Glossy Accents.

Runway Inspired Challenge 43. Lattice Background stamp, Distress Inks and a yellow glossy accent heart. ©Candles in the Garden

I tucked the sentiment banner in between the two labels and adhered the whole thing to my background panel with foam pads. Finally, I added a small gemstone in the middle to finish off.

Thanks for looking!

