Hello, and welcome!

This is my first post as a Design Team member for the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge, and the theme is Back to School. Our sponsor is Ellen Hutson and the winner of this challenge will earn a $25 gift certificate.

cfc114  

Ellen_Hutson_Logo

More details for the challenge can be found here, where I would encourage you to join in all the fun! Here’s my card:

CAS-ual Fridays CFC114 Challenge - Back to School. Pattern papers, washi tape and sentiment stamps from Lawn Fawn and Neat & Tangled. ©Candles in the Garden

Slightly different style here for me, as I don’t often us pattern papers, but I found one that had gridded squares (or graph paper) from the My Mind’s Eye Blink of an Eye pack. I cut down a panel which I knew I would be stamping my sentiments on, but first I wanted to distress the paper a little.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC114 Challenge - Back to School. Pattern papers, washi tape and sentiment stamps from Lawn Fawn and Neat & Tangled. ©Candles in the Garden

I grabbed Antique Linen and Old Paper Distress Inks and used a blending tool to smush the ink around the edges of the panel. I also drew a red line on the left hand side and punched some holes to make the panel look more like a sheet from a student’s exercise book.

CAS-ual Fridays CFC114 Challenge - Back to School. Pattern papers, washi tape and sentiment stamps from Lawn Fawn and Neat & Tangled. ©Candles in the Garden

I distressed the edges further with a craft knife just for added interest. Then I stamped sentiments from Neat and Tangled’s Sparkle and Shine set and Lawn Fawn’s Lucky Stars set in Versamark, sprinkled over some black embossing powder and heat set. These sentiments worked brilliantly together!

CAS-ual Fridays CFC114 Challenge - Back to School. Pattern papers, washi tape and sentiment stamps from Lawn Fawn and Neat & Tangled. ©Candles in the Garden

Before adhering the panel to my card base, I stamped some of the cool images from Hero Arts Brush Strokes set in Neon inks. I found a rocket shaped brad in my stash and attached that to the panel because I thought it went so well with the sentiments. I also drew some stars and then adhered to the card base, curling up the bottom a little.

Finally, I added a strip of washitape (that looked like a ruler) across the top left corner of the panel and I was done! Phew! A lot more going on here than on my usual cards, but I hope you like it all the same!

I hope you can play along – this is a great two week challenge!

