Hey everyone…sharing a card that I’m submitting for Lawnscaping Challenge #64, which is all about Distress products. I’ve got a range of Distress supplies from ink pads and reinkers through to stains and pens. I find that I turn to them more often than not, so how could I not enter this challenge?!

Challenge 64

Here’s my card:

Lawnscaping Distress Maniacs challenge. Distress Inks and stains, Lawn Fawn stamps and silver embossing. ©Candles in the Garden

I started by creating a background panel by using Black Soot and Salty Ocean Distress Inks. I swiped a bit of each onto my craft sheet, spritzed with water and then laid a white piece of cardstock onto the ink puddles. As I lifted the cardstock, the two inks started to blend and bleed into each other, so I heat set before dipping the piece into the ink again.

Lawnscaping Distress Maniacs challenge. Distress Inks and stains, Lawn Fawn stamps and silver embossing. ©Candles in the Garden

I repeated the last step a few times, until I was happy. Then I stamped a sentiment from the Lawn Fawn Lucky Stars set with Versamark ink, and sprinkled over some silver embossing powder. I also stamped some of the small stars from the same set around the sentiment, added the embossing powder and then heat set the whole thing.

Lawnscaping Distress Maniacs challenge. Distress Inks and stains, Lawn Fawn stamps and silver embossing. ©Candles in the Garden

I set this piece aside, and grabbed some kraft cardstock which had been trimmed down to slightly smaller than my square card base. I smushed (is this a word?!) some Brushed Pewter Distress Stain on my craft mat, spritzed some water and with a clean brush, I flicked the stain onto the kraft piece.

Lawnscaping Distress Maniacs challenge. Distress Inks and stains, Lawn Fawn stamps and silver embossing. ©Candles in the Garden

I die-cut a star out of the kraft panel and foam mounted onto my Distress Ink background and then adhered the whole thing to my card base.

Thanks for looking 😉

