Hello everyone!

Today I’m playing along with the challenge over at Moxie Fab World – Trendy Triangles! This is my first entry for a MFW challenge, and to be honest, I’m quite nervous. There’s already so much goodness over there, have you seen?! I also absolutely adore Laura Bassen‘s card below, and was so inspired to try something similar…

N1

I don’t have any of the gorgeous triangle stamps that are out there at the moment, so I did the next best thing. I made my own. Really simple actually, I just cut a triangle out of some Speedball Speedy-carve block. It worked just nicely!

MFW_TT_RGB_DSC_1153a

Then I practiced with some different patterns using this one stamp and a whole bunch of Distress Inks and finally came up with this:

Moxie Fab World Trendy Triangles Challenge using a hand-carved rubber stamp and Distress Inks. ©Candles in the Garden

I overlapped the stamped triangles to create a range of colours, even though I only used four inks! The octagon shape was a bonus!

Moxie Fab World Trendy Triangles Challenge using a hand-carved rubber stamp and Distress Inks. ©Candles in the Garden

When I finished stamping, I was left with this odd star shape in the middle which just didn’t work with any of my sentiment stamps…so, I just cut it out to create a negative shape in my panel. Then, I heat embossed a sentiment from the JustRite For All You Do stamp set onto some iridescent vellum (you can’t see it so well here, but it looks green at different angles), and foam mounted behind the negative shape.

Moxie Fab World Trendy Triangles Challenge using a hand-carved rubber stamp and Distress Inks. ©Candles in the Garden

I foam mounted the panel onto my card base, and although I was tempted to add some gemstones, I left it alone. I wanted the triangles to be the hero on this card!

Moxie Fab World Trendy Triangles Challenge using a hand-carved rubber stamp and Distress Inks. ©Candles in the Garden

Thanks for looking and have a great weekend!

