Hello, and happy Sunday everyone!

Just stopping by to share a card I’m entering into the CAS-ual Fridays – CFC107 – Hunger Games challenge. The theme is to try to include at least one arrow into your project.

cfc107

So, I’ve seen the film…but that’s about as far as my knowledge goes on Hunger Games, so I was glad the main requirement was for an arrow of some sort. Here’s my card:

HUNG_CFC_RGB_DSC_0064

I started by creating a background using home made spray mists (Perfect Pearls, Distress Ink Reinkers and water). This gave me a great base for another product I’ve been dying to experiment with – Embossing Paste. I saw this video by Britta Swiderski and I was hooked!

HUNG_CFC_RGB_DSC_0065

After my background had dried, I grabbed the Studio Calico Chevron Mister Huey’s Mask, laid it on top, and applied some Wendy Vecchi Metallic Gold Embossing Paste with an old gift card. It goes on a sort of orangey-creamy colour, and you have to rinse the stuff off your mask pretty quickly. I let it dry overnight.

HUNG_CFC_RGB_DSC_0071

I came back in the morning to find that the paste had turned a kind of pearlescent gold – the distress ink background didn’t seep through like it did on Britta’s project, but I liked the effect all the same!

HUNG_CFC_RGB_DSC_0067

I die-cut the medium sized heart using the Spellbinders Shapeabilities Nested Hearts set out of some white card stock, and this gave me the perfect negative shape to overlay on my background panel. The sentiment comes from Avery Elle’s Lots of Love stamp set, and the white panel was foam mounted on to a kraft card base. Lastly, I embellished with punched, white butterflies (Martha Stewart Butterflies punches).

Thanks for looking!

