Hello again…

My second post for today is a card I’m linking into the CASology Cue Card – Yellow Challenge. I must admit, this one was tough…I kept thinking flowers and spring but couldn’t get anything to look quite right.

Week 48 - Yellow

So I went back to my faithful Distress Inks, and pulled out the Spellbinders Flowers Impressabilities and clear embossed the pattern onto some white cardstock. This gave me a base to apply Rusty Hinge, Spice Marmalade and Mustard Seed inks over the embossed piece (resisting the clear embossing).

HB_CAS_RGB_DSC_0210

Then I did something I’d not tried before, but seen lots of other crafters try – I used an iron to remove the clear embossing, by sandwiching my piece in between two bits of paper, and going over with a medium set iron (no steam). This left a kind of halo around the flowery pattern, between the inked and clear areas, which I quite liked.

HB_CAS_RGB_DSC_0213

I cut my piece into three strips, on a diagonal to create some interest. The sentiment comes from the Hero Arts Birthday Sayings stamp set.

HB_CAS_RGB_DSC_0224

I still thought the front of the card needed something, so I created the butterfly embellishment in the same way that I did for this card, out of some yellow cardstock. I mounted the butterfly with foam adhesive and used black gemstones for the body.

HB_CAS_RGB_DSC_0211

The photos make the butterfly look more orange that it actually was…but it is made of about 5 layers of yellow die-cut butterflies stuck together with Glossy Accents.

Thanks for looking!

