Hello, and happy Wednesday!

Today I’m playing along with the challenge over at CAS-ual Fridays to create a Congratulations card (CFC103). I thought this would be a really easy one for me to do, but I struggled a little.

cfc103

Here’s my card:

CFC_CONG_RGB_DSC_0074

I knew I wanted to do a stamping technique combined with some Perfect Pearls, and to use the Damask Doilies stamp set from WPlus9. The large butterfly was an afterthought, and I hadn’t really factored it into my overall design, but happened to have it in my box of ‘unused embellies’ (everyone has one of these, right?!).

CFC_CONG_RGB_DSC_0076

I started by stamping the second largest doily from the set in Picked Raspberry Distress Ink in a pattern that I liked, and then brushed over some Perfect Gold Perfect Pearls. I brushed away any excess powder and lightly misted with water over the whole thing, to set the pearls.

CFC_CONG_RGB_DSC_0088

The sentiment also comes from the Damask Doilies stamp set, and I stamped it in Versafine Onyx Black ink at the bottom of the card. At this point, I still thought it needed something, and found this large butterfly that I’d cut on my Silhouette Cameo from some pearlescent orange cardstock. I attached it to the front of my card with foam adhesive, but it just wouldn’t stick! The Perfect Pearls underneath made the surface really powdery, but I got there in the end! Good old Glossy Accents!

CFC_CONG_RGB_DSC_0091

I finished up with some silver gemstones on the body of the butterfly.

Thanks for looking!

