Hi everyone…apologies for the radio silence, but I’ve been out of the country for the last six days, and I’m just catching up with everything now.

It’s my Mum’s birthday today, and so I’m posting the card I made for her, which is also being submitted into the Avery Elle – May AEI♥U Challenge.

AEIheartUChallengeLgBadge

The challenge was to use to create something based on this gorgeous image below:

boatimagewwwsarahkayecom

I looked at the image and knew I wanted to create something using Distress Inks, and so I followed a technique I first saw on Kristina Werner’s blog here to create a background. Here’s my card:

AE_MAY_RGB_DSC_0859

I used Salty Ocean, Peacock Feathers and Broken China Distress Inks to create the background, and then noticed the small damask pattern on one of the pillows in the picture, so I stamped the CAC Wallpaper image by Impression Obsession, sprinkled some clear embossing powder and heat set.

AE_MAY_RGB_DSC_0864

I trimmed my piece just short of the kraft card base, and wrapped some twine around the middle, and then mounted it flat onto the base. Then I pulled out all my Avery Elle stamp sets and ended up using elements from Merry & Bright, Count On It and All Occasion Tags.

AE_MAY_RGB_DSC_0866

I used the tag cut file from the Avery Elle site to cut the shape on my Silhouette Cameo out of white card stock. I then stamped the sentiments and the numbers in Versamark ink and sprinkled some silver embossing powder and heat set. I wanted to tag to pop a little more, so I inked the edges with some Antique Linen Distress Ink, and then mounted the tag ‘upside down’ so that I could add a huge silver gemstone over the hole in the bottom of the tag.

Happy Birthday Mum.

